Skip to main content

UNIS Hanoi Library: For Teachers

New Professional Books

The Learning Challenge

Gives advice on improving children's learning through cognitively challenging them.

Learning Together with Young Children

Second edition. Describes a curriculum framework designed to bridge the gap between educational theories and research and the everyday practices of early childhood teachers who want to create classroom cultures focused on relationships and inquiry.

Project-Based Learning Across the Disciplines

Supports students' academic, literacy, and life goals through the +1Pedagogy framework.

Redesigning Learning Spaces

Provides teachers a guide on how to redesign their learning spaces, that includes how to find resources for a sustainable budget and support technology integration through blended and virtual learning.

Learning Transported

". . . provides practical insights and classroom examples to help educators plan and establish goals so that their investment in immersive technology benefits the greatest number of students. Topics covered include definitions and examples of augmented, virtual and mixed reality; comparison of devices and platforms, and tips for selecting the best one; lesson plans mapped to standards and content areas and ideas for using immersive technology tools in the classroom."

How to Personalize Learning

" ... This practical follow-up to Bray and McClaskey's first book brings theory to practice. Discover how to build a shared vision that supports personalized learning using the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) framework. Also included are: tools and templates to get started and go deeper; lesson and project examples that show how teachers can change instructional practice; [and] links to electronic versions of tools, templates, activities, and checklists."

Disrupting Thinking : Why How We Read Matters

A study on reading habits that explains how to help students become close readers and critical thinkers.

The Book Whisperer

Sixth grade teacher Donalyn Miller describes the instructional approach she uses to turn children into readers, based on a combination of individual choice, a program of independent reading, a collection of high-interest books, and appropriate and authentic reading behavior modeling.

Teaching Children to Care

Offers elementary school teachers tips and advice for effective classroom management, discussing how they can create friendly, respectful, academically rigorous classrooms.

The Cluster Grouping Handbook

A comprehensive guide to planning, implementing, and evaluating school-wide cluster groups directed toward gifted learners, with link to digital content.

63 Ready-To-Use Maker Projects

Provides teachers sixty-three makerspace projects for their library.

Passionate Readers

[Presents ideas for teachers on how to create] a passionate reading environment ... Pernille opens up about her own trials and errors as a teacher and what she's learned along the way. She also shares a wide variety of practical tools ... [for teachers] including a reader profile sheet, conferring sheet, classroom library letter to parents [and more].

Thinking About You Thinking About Me

Second edition. It's a primary core book for professionals and parents that describes the social thinking methodology and helps individuals understand how teaching social thinking is different than teaching social skills.

Resources

   -- a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

 -- best websites for teaching and learning, 2018.

 -- best apps for teaching and learning, 2018.

Documentaries

 

News and Current Events

Keep up to date with what's happening in the world, and give your students current articles to read and discuss by taking advantage of subscriptions from the UNIS Library.

The International New York Times

Anyone with a UNIS Hanoi email address can get a pass to read this premier newspaper online, on or off campus. Go to http://nytimes.com/passes and set up an account with your UNIS email. Passes last for six months and can be easily renewed.

Every teacher and student at UNIS Hanoi has access to this great resource. Common Sense Education gives it five stars and says, "Up-to-date, high-interest articles meet students right at their level: Use this robust tool to bolster students' nonfiction reading practice." Each article is available in multiple reading levels; teachers can curate, annotate, assign, quiz students and use the articles and the program in many other ways. It is very U.S.-focussed. Sign on with your school Google account and create a class.
The Day is a daily online news service with a British focus, used by schools around the world. It offers "articles and features every day covering global events and the biggest stories from around the world." Articles are available in regular and adapted versions, and one article each day is translated into Spanish, French, German, and Italian. Access for UNIS Hanoi teachers and students is automatic when logging in at school.
 is a weekly news magazine that collects and synthesises news from around the world from many different perspectives. UNIS Hanoi subscribes to the digital edition through RBdigital, allowing users to download and read offline. (Great for plane trips!) Create your own account to save issues, and get an email each time a new issue is available.

UNIS Hanoi Library subscribes to the international print editions of magazine and . Look for them in the magazine shelves in the center of the library. Issues may be borrowed.

The daily issue of can also be found in the library.
 
Access World News is a database from NewsBank that UNIS Hanoi Library subscribes to. "This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface." Look here for login information.
 
Business News Sources

The UNIS Hanoi Library purchases ten accounts to access this U.S. business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City. Speak to a librarian if you could use this resource with your classes.

 This British-based business and economics newspaper allows secondary school students and teachers to access it. Go to this web address and log in or register with your UNIS Hanoi email address.
The UNIS Hanoi Librarians are happy to collaborate with you, or bring a lesson, to address evaluating and discerning credibility of news (i.e. avoiding "fake news"). Just drop us an email, or stop by the library.
United Nations International School, Hanoi