Skip to main content

Summer Reading 2018: Ebooks/Audiobooks

Lists and links to suggestions for great reads for the summer holidays.

Listen to a book!

1. Search the UNIS Library Catalogue for audiobooks. Click on the link in the record to stream the recording from our ResourceSpace.

2. Find a book in the Tumblebook Library. See this document for login information.

The Tumblebook collection has over 1100 titles, with content most appropriate for those in grades K-6. It includes animated talking picture books, chapter books, videos, non-fiction titles, playlists, books in languages other than English such as French and Spanish, graphic novels and math stories. 

3. Subscribe to EPIC! They have a promotion available until June 12 of three months for $3.00. Educators can get a free account.

Epic!'s digital library includes many of the best kids books, popular ebooks, and videos such as Fancy Nancy, Big Nate, Warriors, and National Geographic Kids.

4. Download two audiobooks from SYNC every week during the summer (for teens 13+). 

5. Other sources for free audiobooks:

Here are seven sites where you can download free audio books to use alone or in conjunction with hard copies.  Many of these sites share audio versions of books that are already in the public domain. 

  1. OpenCulture: From Aesop's Fables to Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night’s Dream, or from Kipling's Rikki Tikki Tavi to Dickens' Oliver Twist, OpenCulture has audio books galore. 
  2. Kids Learn Out LoudThe Chronicles of Narnia, by C.S. Lewis, is included in this free collection, as are Black Beauty, by Anna Sewell; Robinson Crusoe, by Daniel DeFoe; and many others.  Speeches, presidential addresses, podcasts, and more are included on this packed, resource-rich site.
  3. StoryNory: This site offers free audio downloads of classic fairy tales, world fairy tales, fables, 1001 Nights, and more.
  4. Lit2Go: What I love about this site is that not only is it packed with hundreds of free audio books, but many of the books and poems have free PDFs to download and print so that children can read along, highlight, and mark up the passage being read.
  5. Project Gutenberg: There are 42,000 free ebooks, but not all of them are audio books.  The books are shared freely here because their copyrights have expired.
  6. OpenLibrary: OpenLibrary is just that — an open library.  It is an open, public site with the goal of hosting one web page for every book published. At this point, the collection is young but growing. Each of their free eBooks has an audio component, with computer audio recordings.
    7. International Children’s Digital Library: "A library for the world's children," this site contains over 4,000 books in 61 languages. So cool. Though there aren't many hardcopies I could link to, perhaps some families have the books at home or would just like hearing books read in a foreign language.

Mascott, Amy. "Free Audio Books and Why You Should Try Them." Scholastic Parents, 5 November 2017, www.scholastic.com/parents/blogs/scholastic-parents-raise-reader/free-audio-books-and-why-you-should-try-them. 

Read a book online!

1. Go to this page to see how to access ebooks in the UNIS collection.

2. Subscribe to EPIC! They have a promotion available until June 12 of three months for $3.00. Educators can get a free account.

Epic!'s digital library includes many of the best kids books, popular ebooks, and videos such as Fancy Nancy, Big Nate, Warriors, and National Geographic Kids.

3. Other sources for free ebooks:

Sync! Audiobooks

Two free audiobooks every week all summer!

OverDrive Summer Ebooks

United Nations International School, Hanoi