Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
United Nations International School, Hanoi
Asking : a 59-Minute Guide to Everything Board Members, Volunteers, and Staff Must Know to Secure the Gift
Publication Date: 2013-01-28
Step-by-step guide on how to solicit big donations for charitable organizations.
Assessment of the Chief Executive : User's Guide and Questionnaire : a Tool for Nonprofit Boards
Assessment of the Chief Executive by
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
This tool helps you foster the growth and development of your CEO and organization and enables your board to evaluate the chief executive’s performance in four key areas: annual performance goals, core competencies, leadership qualities, and accomplishments and challenges.
Board Fundamentals : Understanding the Roles in Nonprofit Governance
Board Fundamentals by
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Overview of effective nonprofit governance practices and seeks to answer four basic questions: What is governance? What is the role of the board? What is expected of board members? How does an effective board operate?
The Board Building Cycle : Nine Steps to Finding, Recruiting, and Engaging Nonprofit Board Members
The Board Building Cycle by
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
The book features nine crucial steps for the board to follow through the board development process. This book is intended not only for organizations where the board is charged with selecting its own members but also for organizations where the authority to appoint new board members rests elsewhere.
The Board Chair Handbook
The Board Chair Handbook by
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Focuses on helping nonprofit board chairs carry out their responsibilities for the good of the organization. Whether you are a seasoned board chair wanting to brush up and learn something new, an incoming board chair seeking knowledge and skills, or a person considering the possibility of becoming a board chair, this book is intended to be user-friendly and practical.
The Board Chair Handbook: An Essential Guide for Board Leaders at Independent Schools
The Board Chair Handbook by
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
This book zeroes in on the specific needs of the independent school board chair in a time of accelerating change. Both practical and thought-provoking.
Building the Governance Partnership : the Chief Executive's Guide to Getting the Best From the Board
Building the Governance Partnership by
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Nonprofit organizations - management. Board of Directors. Chief executive officers.
Chief Executive Successful Planning : Essential Guidance for Boards and CEOs
Chief Executive Succession Planning by
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Succession planning precedes executive transitions -- 5 key succession planning steps prior to the executive search -- Determining where the organization wants to go prior to executive transitions -- Six key issues for the board to address during the executive search -- Hiring the chief executive does not complete the succession planning process.
Chief Executive Transitions : How to Hire and Support a Nonprofit CEO
Chief Executive Transitions by
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Chief Executive Transitions will not only help boards navigate the hiring process but also oversee a successful leadership transition. It includes checklists, key questions board members will need to answer as they go through the process, and practical real-life examples.
Creating Caring and Capable Boards : Reclaiming the Passion for Active Trusteeship
Creating Caring and Capable Boards by
Publication Date: 2000-02-22
Based on more than ten years of practical experience, this step-by-step process can help board members to refine their understanding of the organization, strengthen their commitment to mission and goals, and improve their ability to lead cohesively and effectively.
Culture of Inquiry : Healthy Debate in the Boardroom
Culture of Inquiry by
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
This book explains how to create a culture of inquiry within the boardroom — one marked by mutual respect and constructive debate that leads to sound and shared decision making.
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
Pink asserts that the secret to high performance and satisfaction-at work, at school, and at home--is the deeply human need to direct our own lives, to learn and create new things, and to do better by ourselves and our world.
Effective Marketing, Communications and Development
Effective Marketing, Communications and Development by
Resource on marketing international schools.
Exceptional Board Practices : the Source in Action
Exceptional Board Practices by
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
The 12 principles help board members understand and meet the expectations and requirements of their positions, providing a vision of what is possible and a way to reach a higher level of effectiveness.
Executive Committee by
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
It is important for all board members and volunteers to understand both the challenges and benefits of working with a board. An executive committee can be difficult to understand - and to keep under control.
Nonprofit Financial Committees by
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
How to determine the configuration of your financial committees -- The finance committee -- The audit committee -- The investment committee -- Challenges of combining various financial committees -- The finance committees' role in maintaining independence.
Fired-Up Fundraising : Turning Board Passion Into Action
Fired-Up Fundraising by
Publication Date: 2007-03-23
Every nonprofit needs money to survive and thrive, and every nonprofit has a board of trustees to help raise it, but few nonprofits come anywhere near using their boards to maximum benefit.
The Five Dysfunctions of a Team
The Five Dysfunctions of a Team by
Publication Date: 2002-04-11
Lencioni turns his keen intellect and storytelling power to the fascinating, complex world of teams. Kathryn Petersen, Decision Tech's CEO, faces the ultimate leadership crisis: Uniting a team in such disarray that it threatens to bring down the entire company. Will she succeed? Will she be fired? Will the company fail? Lencioni's utterly gripping tale serves as a timeless reminder that leadership requires as much courage as it does insight.
The Fundraising Habits of Supremely Successful Boards
The Fundraising Habits of Supremely Successful Boards
The author reveals how your board can raise surprisingly more money with a tweak here and there. Written specifically for board members, and filled with stories that board members can relate to, Jerry knows how to inspire.
Generating Buzz : Strategic Communications for Nonprofit Boards
Generating Buzz by
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Highlights the board's role in communication, presenting an overview of roles and responsibilities that will help board members provide the necessary vision, support, and oversight.
Generation Impact : How Next Gen Donors Are Revolutionizing Giving
Generation Impact by
Publication Date: 2017-10-02
An insider's guide to the coming philanthropic revolution Meet the next generation of big donors--the Gen X and Millennial philanthropists who will be the most significant donors ever and will shape our world in profound ways.
Getting the Best From Your Board : An Executive's Guide to a Successful Partnership
Getting the Best from Your Board by
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Practical tips and perspectives to help chief executives build and maintain a fruitful partnership with their board and move board performance from ordinary to extraordinary.
Good to Great and the Social Sectors : Why Business Thinking Is Not the Answer
Good to Great and the Social Sectors by
Publication Date: 2005-11-22
An addition to Jim Collins's book "Good to Great" that focuses on achieving high performance in the social sectors.
Good to Great : Why Some Companies Make the Leap--and Others Don't
Good to Great by
Publication Date: 2001-10-16
Presents the findings of a long-term study on a group of companies that made the leap from good to great and sustained those results for at least fifteen years, looking at how those businesses compared with organizations that failed to achieve high performance, and identifying the factors that make the difference.
Govern Green : Driving Your Organization's Commitment to Sustainability
Govern Green : Driving Your Organization's Commitment to Sustainability by
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Providing a step-by-step approach to create an organizational culture that supports a deep commitment to sustainability, this new book suggests appropriate entry points for board involvement. It explains how to formulate a vision and strategy, develop a sustainability policy, review investments, and provide oversight.
Governance in International Schools
Governance in International Schools by
Governance in schools has grown from trial and error to become a complex and emotive issue that can result in schools lurching from boards that micro manage to those that simply rubber-stamp senior administration recommendations.
Governance as Leadership : Reframing the Work of Nonprofit Boards
Governance As Leadership by
Publication Date: 2004-10-22
A new framework for helping nonprofit organizations maximize the effectiveness of their boards.
Great by Choice : Uncertainty, Chaos, and Luck : Why Some Thrive Despite Them All
Great by Choice by
Publication Date: 2011-10-11
Outlines the principles for building a great enterprise in turbulent times.
The Handbook of Nonprofit Governance
The Handbook of Nonprofit Governance by
Publication Date: 2010-04-19
This comprehensive resource explores the overarching question of governance within nonprofit organizations and addresses the roles, structures, and practices of an effective nonprofit.
Hot Buttons : How to Resolve Conflict and Cool Everyone Down
Hot Buttons by
Publication Date: 2000-09-05
Presents tools people may use to gentle anger in others and to dissolve their personal bitterness, based on a five-step formula that may be altered to meet the needs of specific situations.
The Human Brand : How We Relate to People, Products, and Companies
The Human Brand by
Publication Date: 2013-10-07
Explains how people see companies and brands and why they make the choices they do, as well as what it takes for companies and brands to earn and keep loyalty.
The Human Side of School Change : Reform, Resistance, and the Real-Life Problems of Innovation
The Human Side of School Change by
Publication Date: 2001-01-18
The author provides a new model of leadership along with practical management strategies for building a framework of cooperation between leaders of change and the people they depend upon to implement it.
International Trustee Handbook: A Guide for Effective Governance for Independent School Boards
International Trustee Handbook: A Guide for Effective Governance for Independent School Boards by
Publication Date: 2019
Written from the unique perspective of independent schools outside of the United States.
Leadership and Self-Deception : Getting Out Of the Box
Leadership and Self-Deception by
Publication Date: 2009-10-16
Discusses the pitfalls of self-deception for business leaders, and describes how this can lead to associates undermining performance in an organization, potential causes, and possible solutions to improve teamwork, communication, trust, motivation, and more.
Meeting, and Exceeding Expectations : a Guide to Successful Nonprofit Board Meetings
Meeting, and Exceeding Expectations by
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
ready-to-use information that will help your board members provide the valuable input that will propel your organization to greatness. This must-have resource poses critical questions, provides easy-to-implement answers, suggests tools, and clarifies legal and ethical expectations.
Mining Group Gold : How to Cash In On the Collaborative Brain Power of a Group
Mining Group Gold by
Publication Date: 1995-07-01
Explores the process of managing people and ideas to achieve a high level of results in a complex, turbulent global economy.
The Next Frontier: Inclusion in International Schools
The Next Frontier: Inclusion in International School by
Do schools reflect society, or do schools transform societies? We believe that excellent schools have the potential to do both.
The Nonprofit Board Answer Book : a Practical Guide for Board Members and Chief Executives
The Nonprofit Board Answer Book by
Publication Date: 2011-12-27
An essential guide to good governance for board leaders at alllevels of experience and expertise The book covers such topics as board structure and process, board member recruitment and orientation, board-staff relations, and financial management.
The Nonprofit Dashboard : Using Metrics to Drive Mission Success
The Nonprofit Dashboard : Using Metrics to Drive Mission Success by
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Like the instrument panel on the dashboard of a car, a dashboard report presents a quick, comprehensive overview of an organization's status and overall direction, giving more meaning to the information the board receives.
The Nonprofit Chief Executive's Ten Basic Responsibilities
The Nonprofit Chief Executive's Ten Basic Responsibilities by
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Discusses all the chief executive’s responsibilities, including supervising staff, overseeing operations, and supporting the board.
Nonprofit Executive Compensation : Planning, Performance, and Pay
Nonprofit Executive Compensation : Planning, Performance, and Pay by
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
This practical step-by-step guide and reference will help you establish an effective compensation structure. It will also help you maintain public trust by increasing the transparency and integrity of your compensation practices.
The Non-Profit Narrative : How Telling Stories Can Change the World
The Non-Profit Narrative by
Publication Date: 2012-02-22
The Non-Profit Narrative is designed to help non-profits apply storytelling principles to their day-to-day operations and communications for maximum impact. Utilizing the idea that all organizations have great stories to tell, Dan Portnoy encourages non-profits to interpret fundraising and engagement from the perspective of storytelling.
The Practitioner's Guide to Governance as Leadership
The Practitioner's Guide to Governance As Leadership by
Publication Date: 2012-12-17
A resource that shows how to achieve excellence and peak performance in the boardroom by putting into practice the groundbreaking model that was introduced in the book, Governance as Leadership.
Principal Evaluation : Standards, Rubrics, and Tools for Effective Performance
Principal Evaluation by
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Effective principals run effective schools--this much we know. Accurately measuring principal effectiveness, however, has long been an elusive goal for school administrators. In this indispensable book, author James H. Stronge details the steps and resources necessary for designing a comprehensive principal evaluation system that is based on sound research and established best practices.
Storytelling in Organizations
Storytelling in Organizations by
Publication Date: 2011-07-19
The authors describe the power of narrative and storytelling in their own experience working on knowledge management, change management, and innovation strategies in organizations such as Xerox, the World Bank, and IBM.
Say It With Charts : the Executive's Guide to Visual Communication
Say It with Charts: the Executive's Guide to Visual Communication by
Publication Date: 2001-03-15
Step-by-step guide to creating compelling, memorable presentations
Strategic Planning in International Schools
Strategic Planning in International Schools by
Covers involvement in managing, developing, and implementing strategic plans for the International School.
Structures and Practices of Nonprofit Boards
Structures and Practices of Nonprofit Boards by
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Nonprofit governance calls for visionary and vigilant leadership, efficient and flexible structures, productive and proven practices, an inquiring and trusting culture, and a shared passion for the mission. This book provides a set of basic guidelines to enable nonprofit boards to meet these challenges and develop board members who are actively engaged in the life of the organization.
Ten Basic Responsibilities of Nonprofit Boards
Ten Basic Responsibilities of Nonprofit Boards by
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
Not only explores the board’s 10 core responsibilities, it also puts them into the context of the governance challenges facing nonprofits today.
Transforming Board Structure : Strategies for Committees and Task Forces
Transforming Board Structure : Strategies for Committees and Task Forces by
Provides a fresh look at committees and illustrates how boards can use simple and flexible work groups to streamline the work of the full board.
Transitions : Making Sense of Life's Changes
Publication Date: 2004-08-11
Provides advice on the three stages of coping with life changes; discussing aging, the workplace, and relationships.
Understanding Nonprofit Financial Statements
Understanding Nonprofit Financial Statements by
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
The no-nonsense explanations will help you quickly understand complicated financial concepts so that you are equipped to perform your legal and fiduciary responsibilities, to set realistic financial goals, and to determine your organization's performance.