HS English Text Books: DP

Raised as a boy, fourteen-year-old Alex, who has male and female sexual body parts, rejects the hormonal medications prescribed by his mother and decides to live as a girl.

A translation of Sophocles' play in which Antigone risks her life in order to give her brother, who has been declared a traitor, a proper burial. Includes commentary and an introduction to the Greek Theater.

Presents a collection of seventy-eight short stories by a group of international authors born since 1937.

An unabridged republication of the 1899 novel about a Victorian-era woman who finds passionate physical love with a young man she meets while on vacation.

Presents two plays by Harold Pinter, including "The Birthday Party," in which a musician falls victim to the violence of two men from his sinister past; and "The Room," the story of a blind man who arrives at a derelict boarding house to deliver a mysterious message.

Contains the English translation of the Spanish play in which a bride elopes with her lover, the son of her family's enemy, on her wedding night.

A collection of ten fantasy stories by Angela Carter.

"Author Ross Gay spent a year writing almost-daily essays about the things, large and small, that delight him"--Provided by publisher.

Presents a reprint of Graham Greene's 1938 novel about Pinkie Brown, a teenage gangster who tries to establish himself in the Brighton underworld, describing his criminal ambitions, and the events surrounding the murder of corrupt newspaperman, Charles Hale.

The author, a young Vietnamese-American man, shares the story of his solo bicycle journey around the Pacific Rim to Vietnam, and discusses his search for cultural identity in the Vietnam of his childhood.

A young man tries to uncover the truth behind a shocking murder that took place nearly thirty years ealier, looking to the town's residents to rebuild the events of the crime and try to determine why no one stopped the killer when everyone seemed to know his intentions.

New poems are added to the eleven previous books of this most popular of Caribbean poets.

Marjane Satrapi recounts her childhood and coming of age in Tehran during the Islamic Revolution, as well as her self-imposed exile from her native country, through comic strips that reflect how her own history is tied to the history of Iran.

A collection of poetic works by nineteenth-century English poet John Keats, including epistles, sonnets, and several fugitive and posthumously published poems. Also includes "Endymion," an allegorical romance, and "Otho the Great," a five-act poetic tragedy.

Raskolnikov, an impoverished Russian student, murders a despicable old pawnbroker, reasoning that his evil act is outweighed by humanitarian good, but he discovers the fault in his theory when he is plagued by horror and guilt over his actions.

A former political prisoner in a Latin American country is haunted by memories when she and her husband offer hospitality to a stranger. She begins to suspect that he is the man who tortured her in prison, using Schubert's music to drown out her screams.

Presents the script of the Pulitzer Prize-winning play in which Willy Loman, a sixty-three-year-old traveling salesman, is forced to face the reality he has avoided all his life.

A fresh and exciting approach to English Literature

Presents a satire about Vietnam during the late colonial era that follows the unexpected rise of a street-smart vagabond named Red-haired Xuan.

A psychiatrist's probings into the mind of a young man who has blinded six horses with a spike, leaves him questioning his own purpose and the work he is doing.

Tells the story of an African village through the eyes of a spirit child.

A retired, eighty-nine-year-old detective, living in the English countryside in 1944, finds his interest piqued when a man is murdered while trying to steal a German-speaking parrot that spouts an endless stream of numbers from a young Jewish refugee.

A love story with deep psychological undertones set in the Devon coast during the nineteenth century.

A graphic memoir about growing up with a remote dad who managed a funeral home while hiding his homosexuality. Includes adult content.

"Menagerie was Williams's first popular success and launched the brilliant, if somewhat controversial, career of our pre-eminent lyric playwright. Since its premiere in Chicago in 1944, with the legendary Laurette Taylor in the role of Amanda, the play has been the bravura piece for great actresses from Jessica Tandy to Joanne Woodward, and is studied and performed in classrooms and theatres around the world.

On a December day in 1969 twins Rahel and Estha, born to a wealthy family living in the province of Kerala, India, find their lives changed after the death of their English cousin who was visiting for the holidays.

Jay Gatsby had once loved beautiful, spoiled Daisy Buchanan, then lost her to a rich boy. Now, mysteriously wealthy, he is ready to risk everything to woo her back. This is the definitive, textually accurate edition of a classic of twentieth-century literature, The Great Gatsby. The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan has been acclaimed by generations of readers. But the first edition contained a number of errors resulting from Fitzgerald's extensive revisions and a rushed production schedule.

This edition of Hamlet is part of the groundbreaking Cambridge School Shakespeare series established by Rex Gibson. Remaining faithful to the series' active approach it treats the play as a script to be acted, explored and enjoyed. As well as the complete script of the play, you will find a variety of classroom-tested activities, an eight-page colour section and a selection of notes including information on characters, performance, history and language.

Set in the near future, America has become a puritanical theocracy and Offred tells her story as a Handmaid under the new social order.

The most supportive, easy-to-use and focussed literature guides to help your students understand the texts they are studying at GCSE and A Level.

"[A collection of eight short stories that explore] the realities of women's lives and the violence visited upon their bodies"--OCLC.

A group of strangers at the Global Hotel find their lives forever linked when they are haunted by the spirit of a chambermaid who has fallen to her death in the hotel's dumbwaiter.

"[The author] takes readers through a widening circle of antiracist ideas--from the most basic concepts to visionary possibilities--that will help readers see . . . [different] . . . forms of racism . . . , understand their . . . consequences, and work to oppose them in our systems and in ourselves"-

The author recounts what it is like being overweight.

Autobiography covering the childhood of a woman who has been a professional dancer, actress, poet, journalist, and television producer.

Jack Worthing creates a fictitious brother Earnest who lives in London to escape his dull country routine, but finds the lie backfiring when he falls in love

The members of an eminently respectable British family reveal their true natures over the course of an evening in which they are subjected to a routine inquiry into the suicide of a young girl.

"An Inspector Calls", first produced in 1946 when society was undergoing sweeping transformations, has recently enjoyed an enormously successful revival. While holding its audience with the gripping tension of a detective thriller, it is also a philosophical play about social conscience and the crumbling of middle class values

The story of Jude Fawley, an impoverished stonemason who aspires to the ministry and fails to fulfill the opposite expectations of the two women he loves in Victorian society.

Oxford School Shakespeare is an acclaimed edition especially designed for students, with accessible on-page notes and explanatory illustrations, clear background information, and rigorous but accessible scholarly credentials. King Lear is a popular text for study by secondary students theworld over. This edition includes illustrations, preliminary notes, reading lists and classroom notes.

Real estate developer Dharmen Shah rose from nothing to create an empire, and hopes to seal his legacy with a building named the Shanghai, which promises to be one of Mumbai's most elite addresses. When Shah offers a generous buyout to the residents of a crumbling apartment building on whose site this luxury high-rise would be built, they can't believe their good fortune. All but one: a retired schoolteacher called Masterji, who refuses to abandon his home.

Florentino Ariza engages in hundreds of liasons over the course of fifty-three years, seven months, and eleven days, while waiting to finally possess Fermina Daza, a woman who once promised Florentino her love, but then jilted him in favor of another.

The Shakespeare Made Easy series aims to take the fear out of Shakespeare. By having Shakespearean and Modern English facing each other, pupils will find it easier to comprehend the text. Through discussion of the life, work and theatre of Shakespeare pupils can gain a more roundedunderstanding of these classic works.

A compelling drama of South African apartheid and a universal coming-of-age story, from "the greatest active playwright in the English-speaking world" (Time). Originally produced in 1982, "Master Harold and the Boys" is now an acknowledged classic of the stage, whose themes of injustice, racism, friendship, and reconciliation traverse borders and time.

Memoir about Vladek Spiegleman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and about his son, a cartoonist who tries to come to terms with his father, his story, and with history itself. Cartoon format portrays Jews as mice and Nazis as cats.

A collection of poems exploring romance, family, memory, grief, war and melancholia.

The cautionary tale of a man caught in a political nightmare in which the power of a totalitarian state is pitted against the personal freedom of the individual.

Set in the Spanish colonial era, a doomed love affair takes place between a young girl who is thought to be possessed and the priest who is sent to oversee her exorcism.

Written when the speaker, Little Dog is in his late twenties, the letter unearths a family's history that began before he was born--a history whose epicenter is rooted in Vietnam--and serves as a doorway into parts of his life his mother has never known, all of it leading to an unforgettable revelation. At once a witness to the fraught yet undeniable love between a single mother and her son, it is also a brutally honest exploration of race, class, and masculinity

Recounts the experiences of Shukhov, a prisoner at a Soviet work camp in Siberia, as he struggles for survival.

The struggle for power between a head nurse and a male patient in a mental institution leads to a climax of hate, violence, and death.

Presents a selection of over two hundred poems by Nobel Prize-winning Irish poet Seamus Heaney, drawn from throughout his career, from 1966 through 1996.

Oxford School Shakespeare is an acclaimed edition especially designed for students, with accessible on-page notes and explanatory illustrations, clear background information, and rigorous but accessible scholarly credentials. In this edition of Othello, illustrations have been extended andupdated; the preliminary notes have been expanded; reading lists have been updated, and include websites; and the classroom notes have been brought in line with recent practice. Othello is a set text for 11-14 year olds in England and remains one of the most accessible and popular of Shakespeare'splays for secondary students the world over.

The author explores why some people are high achievers and others are not, citing culture, family, and upbringing as possible reasons some people are not as successful as others.

In 1738, an orphaned child is given to the monks as a charity case. Although he has no smell at all himself, he possesses an absolute sense of smell. He can smell the very composition of objects, and their history.

A young man becomes entranced with the power of his physical beauty and stops aging, while his portrait, hidden away in his attic, ages for him.

Contains the dramatic text for a play by Martin McDonagh, in which a writer is interrogated by the authorities in a totalitarian state over the gruesome details in his short stories and their resemblance to a series of actual child murders.

A spirited young woman in early nineteenth-century England copes with the courtship of a snobbish gentleman as well as the romantic entanglements of her four sisters.

The second Mrs. Maxim de Winter finds it difficult and frightening to live in the shadow of her predecessor, a situation that is exacerbated by her husband's moodiness, and the presence of sinister housekeeper, Mrs. Danvers.

A nameless man and his young son wander through a decimated landscape, searching for means of survival and a reason for hope as barbaric hordes of people roam the streets and ash falls from the sky.

Presents the play of Hamlet as seen through the eyes of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern.

"When Sabrina disappears, an airman in the U.S. Air Force is drawn into a web of suppositions, wild theories, and outright lies. Sabrina depicts a modern world devoid of personal interaction and responsibility, where relationships are stripped of intimacy through glowing computer screens. An indictment of our modern state, Drnaso contemplates the dangers of a fake news climate"--Provided by publisher.

Mary Ward, at age six, realizes that she is a boy and not a girl. She searches for three decades to find her identity.

A young man returns to his village in Sudan, where he encounters a stranger named Mustafa, who takes the boy under his wing and shares the story of his own life before leaving him to care for his wife after he disappears without explanation.

A collection of poems by the four-time Pulitzer Prize winner, taken from his first three books published between 1913 and 1915, and including eighteen early works that have never appeared in any of Frost's books of poetry.

William Blake was an engraver, painter and visionary mystic as well as one of the most revolutionary poets. This volume contains many of his writings, including: "Songs of Innocence", "Songs of Experience", "The Marriage of Heaven and Hell", and a selection from the Prophetic Books.

Nature and science writer Bill Bryson examines some of mysteries of science, and attempts to understand not only what scientists know, but how they know it. Covers the creation of the universe, the size of the Earth, the origins of life, and other topics.

A moral allegory, set in ancient India, about one soul's quest for the ultimate answer to the enigma of man's role in this world. The hero, Siddhartha, undergoes a series of experiences to emerge in a state of peace and wisdom.

So writes Jenny Diski of the parent she has neither seen nor heard from since 1966, the year her father died. In search of an escape from her suicidal sexually abusive parents, Diski spends her teenage years in the oblivion of heavy drug use and psychiatric wards. As an adult she finds a new haven: the boundless, blank iciness of Antarctica where everything "is colored white and filled with a singing silence." This blistering account interweaves the story of the author's journey to the end of the earth, her daughter's search for Diski's missing mother, and Diski's own search of her memory-hardened heart.

The story of a geisha, Komako, who gives herself, without illusions, to a love affair doomed to transience.

Kien, an ex-soldier and struggling writer, tries to come to grips with his painful youth, shattered love, and the horrors of the Vietnam conflict.

Caught in the grip of forces he does not understand, a quiet, ordinary clerk in Algiers commits a murder.

Blanche DuBois, a haggard and fragile southern beauty finds her pathetic last grasp at happiness cruelly destroyed in large part by her brother-in-law Stanley Kowalski.

An African-American woman searches for a fulfilling relationship through two loveless marriages and finally finds it in the person of Tea Cake, an itinerant laborer and gambler.

Presents the dramatic text of Caryl Churchill's play that depicts the lives of women who have each defined their roles in life based on their views of womanhood and feminism; and includes a chronology of the playwright's life and work, a synopsis of the play, commentary on themes and style, and suggestions for further reading.

Presents the text of William Shakespeare's tragedy in which Hamlet, the Prince of Denmark, struggles with the decision whether to avenge his father's murder, and includes text glosses; details on Shakespeare's life, world, and theater; and an essay that offers a modern perspective on the play.

Othello, a Moorish general, is led by a jealous and evil ensign to believe his wife, Desdemona, has been unfaithful.

Yeong-hye begins having nightmares about blood and brutality and decides to become a vegetarian but this act of independence upsets the balance of her marriage.

Translation of a Japanese novel which tells the story of Toru Okada, a gentle young man who is thrown into a totally unfamiliar world of mystery and mysticism when his wife, Kumiko, disappears.

The edited script of Shakespeare's play about a king whose unfounded jealousy has lifelong consequences for his family, with a running synopsis of the action, explanation of unfamiliar words, and suggested activities for classroom use.

A collection of poems written from the perspectives of the wives of famous and infamous male personages, including Mrs. Midas, Queen Kong, Frau Freud, the Devil's Wife, and others.

This volume is part of a series of novels, plays and stories at GCSE/Key Stage 4 level, designed to meet the needs of the National Curriculum syllabus. Each text includes an introduction, pre-reading activities, notes and coursework activities. Also provided is a section on the process of writing, often compiled by the author.

Archie Jones and Samad Iqbal, friends since serving together in World War II, deal with the problems of love, lust, and the other challenges of raising their families in 1970s London.