MS/HS Visual Art Resources: Art Books

Five hundred of the world's greatest painters and sculptors, from medieval to modern times, are listed alphabetically along with a color reproduction of a representative work with explanatory text and cross-references to other artists. Includes a directory of museums and galleries.

Set amid the most turbulent social and political period of modern times, Ninth Street Women is the impassioned, wild, sometimes tragic, always exhilarating chronicle of five women who dared to enter the male-dominated world of twentieth-century abstract painting -- not as muses but as artists.

Contains drawing and painting exercises for aspiring artists that take between five and ten minutes each.

Presents 100 ideas that changed art, from Paleolithic art through the ancient world, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and onward into recent times.

Whether a map explaining the subway system, an Internet meme about women's empowerment, or a logo on a laptop, graphic design is everywhere. The Art of Graphic Communication discusses what today's artists are doing, how they attract a following, and what they are saying through their artwork.

100 artists who epitomize the contemporary art scene: Key figures on the avant-garde horizon .

Presents a collection of optical illusion art by a number of noted artists including Salvador Dali, Vik Muniz, and Roger Shepard.

Uses text and pictures to explore and examine different artists and styles of art created in the twentieth century.

What is a masterpiece? At the most basic level, a masterpiece is a quintessential work by a great artist. This magnificent volume details the development of art from the beginning of recorded civilisation into the twentieth century, presenting essential works of art from across the world, both East and West, in more then 110 full-color reproductions.

"The decorative arts, which include the furniture, housewares, and decorations people use in the places where they live, can tell you alot about a society and what they value. . . looks at cultures and design styles and trends from around the world from ancient times to the present"--adapted from back cover.

A companion to the television series "Art for the Twenty-First Century," featuring interviews with eighteen contemporary artists, along with reproductions of their work. Includes brief biographies of each artist.

A survey of the use of collage in the visual arts from the early-20th-century innovations of Picasso to the present day. Collage is defined broadly, and the book covers montage, photomontage and assemblage as associated disciplines. The geographical scope is inclusive, and there is discussion of work from Central and Eastern Europe. There is a good balance of better and lesser known artists, and the book contains a lot of material rarely reproduced.

From ancient Germany's "Lion Man of Hohlenstein-Stadel" to James Turrell's 1995 photograph "Roden Crater," chronologically presents one thousand examples of art from different countries, cultures, and civilizations and discusses what makes each piece both unique and representative.

A companion to the television series "Art for the Twenty-First Century," featuring interviews with eighteen contemporary artists, along with reproductions of their work. Includes brief biographies of each artist.

Contains color reproductions and descriptions of thirteen painting masterpieces, each with information on why the work is important, and includes time lines, and a glossary.